Karnataka elections: BJP releases second list of 82 candidates


Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday April 16 announced its second list of candidates for the upcoming Karnataka assembly elections.

Supporters of former excise minister Manohar Tahsildhar, who now represents Hangal, staged a protest over denial of the party ticket to their leader.

Senior leader P Ramesh called the party "Tughlaq Congress" and said he would contest the election from CV Raman Nagar in Bengaluru as a JD (S) candidate as Siddaramaiah had told him he would not get a ticket.

The party is yet to name candidates for Shantinagar segment in Bengaluru Central, Kittar, Nagthan, Sindgi, Raichur and Melukote.

Speaking to India Today, Congress General Secretary incharge KC Venugopal said the party is clear that workers and winnability matters.

2 security personnel injured in attack from across Afghan border
In Islamabad, Foreign Office officials were in contact with the Afghan embassy to explore ways to defuse the tension. According to Azadi Radio, Pakistani forces are shelling Afghan border posts in Zazi Maiden.

WhatsApp is changing its 'delete for all' feature again
The app will also check if the file is available in the 'sdcard/WhatsApp/' directory before downloading the file. The report said that the feature has been added between the 2.18.106 and 2.18.110 updates in WhatsApp .

Actor R. Lee Ermey Dies At 74
Beginning in 1968, he spent 14 months in Vietnam and then served another decade, based in Okinawa, Japan, as a staff sergeant. Marine and an honorary gunnery sergeant, served as a drill instructor during his tenure in the U.S.

Karnataka will go into polls on May 12 while the counting of votes will be held on May 15, the state is beefed up with security forces in the backdrop of elections with election commission keeping a stern watch on all the activities in the state. Chamundershwari was won by the Janata Dal (Secular) in the previous election. Kirtana R.G., widow of recently deceased Rudra Gowda, Belur MLA, has also been given ticket.

While Shyamanuru Shiva -shankarappa, 86, is the oldest Congress candidate in the fray, 28-year-old H.S. Manjunath Gowda, who is contesting from Mahalakshmi Layout in Bengaluru, is the youngest.

The ruling Congress which has named 218 out of 224 candidates late on Sunday evening has been forced to enter damage-control mode with several high-profile leaders voicing their unhappiness. Disgruntled leaders threatened to resign from the party membership, even as their loyalists vandalised party offices and created a ruckus at various places within the state.

Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddiyurappa will contest the election from his home constituency Shikaripur while Eshwarappa will contest the election from Shivmoga constituency.