All polling stations in NA-120 declared sensitive


A total of 324,786 registered voters can exercise their right to cast the ballot. All polling stations have been declared sensitive.

The whole nation has set eyes on this high value by-election being held on the seat vacated by former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in the wake of his disqualification by the Supreme Court in the Panama leaks case.

Candidates of major political parties included Begum Kalsoom Nawaz from Pakistan Muslim League (N), Faisal Mir from Pakistan People's Party and Dr. Yasmeen Rashid from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

"Some 30,000 voters will be polling their votes on biometric machines", Dawn reported.

The polling for by-election in Lahore's NA-120 constituency has begun at 8am and will continue till 5pm amid stringent security measures.

Eight deaths at Florida nursing home sounding alarms after Irma
Pimentel says a medical examiner will have to determine a cause of death, but there were no obvious signs of foul play. Nursing home officials blamed a blown transformer for cutting power to the air conditioning unit.

Davis Cup: Australia and France lead 2-1 in semifinals
Kyrgios defeated Steve Darcis 6-3, 3-6, 6-7 (5/7), 6-1, 6-2 on Friday while Goffin saw off John Millman 6-7 (4/7), 6-4, 6-3, 7-5. The French need to win one of the two singles matches on Sunday to advance to the finals for the 18th time.

Criticism Against The Bullet Train Project Is A Tad Unfair
Taking a dig sarcastically, it said, "It is not entirely certain, as to which problem the bullet train is a solution for". Bullet trains won't benefit a chunk of the country, especially those from the economically backward sections.

It is the first time in Pakistan that biometric verification machines have been installed at 39 polling stations.

Extra police personnel would be deployed on polling day at all stations in addition to deployment of Rangers and Army personnel, added police sources. There are more than 320,000 registered voters in the constituency.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday served notices to leaders of the ruling PML-N and PTI for spearheading their respective political campaigns before the by-polls in the NA-120 constituency, terming it a violation of the commission's code of conduct.

The names of contenders with their symbols for NA-120 are: Aajasim Sharif (emergency light), Arshad Mehmood Butt (coins), Ameer Bahadur Khan Hoti (lantern), Inamullah Khan (oil tanker), Muhammad Khurram (medal), Tayyab Jamil (goat), Pervez Akhter Gujjar (pressure cooker), Jawed Yousaf (bottle), Hasnain Gondal (lighter). Both these candidates have big following on the basis of their respective school of thought and this election will also give them count of the respective vote bank for their future politics.