Presidential polls: Voters to get special pens


According to the Election Commission, since the technology for proportional election and single transferable vote is yet to be developed in the electronic voting machines, the presidential election is taking place through ballot papers. Usually, MPs vote in Parliament House and MLAs in their respective state assemblies.

The people of the Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democratic and Republic India do not elect its own president directly.

The Article 55 in the Constitution of India ensures uniformity in the scale of representation of the different States at the election of the President. The special pen will have to be returned to the polling staff. Voting by using any other pen will be held invalid. CPI MP from Tamil Nadu D Raja and CPM MP from the State TK Rangarajan will also vote for Meira Kumar. It's not clear whom the four Independent MLAs would vote for.

Among state assemblies, Uttar Pradesh has the maximum number of women votes (8,320), followed by West Bengal (6,191) and Madhya Pradesh (4,192), the report added.

The MPs from the state are expected to vote in Delhi, the official said. The votes would be cast from 1000 to 1700 hours, informed Bihar Assembly Secretary cum Assistant Returning Officer Ram Shreshtha Rai.

Nevada Parole Board Determining OJ's Fate Next Week
On Thursday, the board will consider parole on the other charges, including kidnapping, robbery, and assault with a deadly weapon. In the rare case of a three-three tie, parole would be denied for six months and a new hearing would be held next January.

Priyanka Chopra starts shooting for her second Hollywood venture, Isn't it Romantic
I am an artiste, and when I go to another country, I have no problem introducing myself as Priyanka Chopra , an Indian actor. I hope that is something which happens because there are so many films which come from around the world.

Almost 3400 Colorado Voters Cancel Registrations
Why the commission posted this data remains unknown, as it did so without comment. "You are evil. Pray there is no hell", wrote one critic.

Among them, a total of 993 members have serious criminal cases against them.

In all, 776 MPs (543 Lok Sabha + 233 Rajya Sabha) are eligible to vote.

The value of votes of the MLAs and MPs of UP is the highest in the country.

The Opposition's candidate, Meira Kumar, visited Mumbai last month to launch her campaign for the top constitutional post. He only needs the support of a couple of neutral parties to sail through. The latter account for 10 percent of the votes. The nation will get its new President on Thursday.

Shah, who is an MLA from Gujarat and was allowed to cast his vote in Parliament, also used his franchise in the contest between Kovind and Kumar, who was a former Lok Sabha Speaker. Considering the scenario, the NDA candidate has the advantage from the opposition's joint candidate, however neither the NDA nor the UPA enjoys simple majority at its own.