Greenlaw Named to Butkus Award Watch List


Duke senior running back/kickoff returner Shaun Wilson was named to the watch list for the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, an honor presented to the most versatile player in the nation by The Louisville Sports Commission.

Jefferson has landed on the Bednarik Award, Bronco Nagurski Trophy and Butkus Award preseason watch lists, in addition to being named to the 2017 Preseason All-Big 12 Football team. The victor and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award Banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health, to be held at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 8, 2018. Mirroring the legendary "51" pro jersey of the award's namesake Dick Butkus whom NFL Films considers the best defensive player in football history, each watch list features 51 players identified by a 51-person selection panel of deeply experienced coaches, talent evaluators and journalists. Fielding punts, Fant had 11 returns for 172 yards and a pair of touchdowns (at Miami (Ohio) and vs. Houston Baptist), and earned All-Conference USA First Team honors despite playing only nine games. In addition, he was a semifinalist for the Butkus Award. He led the Longhorns that season in quarterback pressures (six) and was fourth with his seven tackles for loss, while also adding three pass breakups, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery.

Toddler in Florida dies after being left in hot vehicle
In an interview, Carly Saint Saveur, the boy's uncle, said: "It's tragic". "The parents may not even know [a child is] missing". Carly Saint Saveur told the Sun-Sentinel that the BMW belongs to his brother, Action Saint Saveur, who is the boy's father.

India, Pakistan Army exchange heavy fire along LoC in Rajouri
In May India accused Pakistani forces of killing two soldiers patrolling the LoC and mutilating their bodies. The girl has been identified as Sajida Kousar.

BJP's parliamentary committee meets today, will decide on VP candidate
Gopalkrishna Gandhi on Sunday said he will file his nomination on Tuesday, July 18th for Vice presidential 2017 election. The electoral college for the election consists of 790 MPs of the two chambers of Parliament .

Morgan heads into his second full season as Notre Dame's starter at Mike linebacker after leading Notre Dame with 90 tackles and four sacks last fall. The award was first presented in 1985.